10.30.2020

We, the undersigned departments, programs, and individual members of the College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences at DU, wish to acknowledge our steadfast support of DU Native American and Indigenous students and alumni, past and present, who seek to end the use of the Pioneer moniker on the DU campus. In order to create a safer and more inclusive and equitable campus, it is imperative that we listen to Native and Indigenous voices, recognize their experiences, and promote an environment where students long marginalized can thrive. Therefore, we stand in solidarity with the words expressed by Indigenous and Native American alumni in their response to Chancellor Haefner's October 21, 2020 email (see attached).

Signed,

The CAHSS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The Department of Philosophy at the University of Denver

Department of Economics

The Department of Languages, Literatures & Cultures

The Gender and Women's Studies Program

Committee for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Lamont School of Music

The Department of Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

The staff of the dean's office

The Department of Sociology and Criminology

Faculty of Emergent Digital Practices

Santhosh Chandrashekar, Communication Studies

Lucy Cane, Political Science

Brenda Boyle, Enrollment Services Manager

Jonathan Sciarcon, History and Judaic Studies

Sara Chatfield, Political Science and GWST Executive Committee

Laurel Eckhouse, Political Science

Elizabeth Sperber, Political Science

Evanne Seelig, Digital Communications Manager

Joshua Wilson, Political Science

Michael Campbell, Sociology and Criminology

Pamela Miller, Psychology

Thomas Nail, Philosophy

Rachel Lim, Lamont School of Music

Kate Casanova, School of Art & Art History

Lauren Hartog, Vicki Myhren Gallery

Geoffrey Shamos, Director of Vicki Myhren Gallery and Curator of University Art Collections

Ethan Crawford, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Trace Reddell, Emergent Digital Practices

Jared Del Rosso, Sociology and Criminology

Beth Suter, Communication Studies

Jason Kellermeyer, School of Art & Art History

Meagan Callahan, School of Art & Art History

Markus Schneider, Economics

Nicole Parks, School of Art and Art History

Amie Levesque, Sociology and Criminology

Deborah Howard, School of Art & Art History

Lina Reznicek-Parrado, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Jeanie L Tischler, School of Art & Art History

Emily Schwartz, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Nessa Kerr, School of Art & Art History

Heidi Leathwood, Lamont School of Music

Mia Saracusa, Psychology

Jill Holm-Denoma, Psychology

Yasmaine D. Ford, History

Chris Coleman, Emergent Digital Practices

Jonathan Leathwood, Lamont School of Music

Michelle Rozenman, Psychology

Laleh Mehran, Emergent Digital Practices

Michael Gibson-Light, Sociology and Criminology

Erika Manczak, Psychology

Kathryn Fox, Psychology

Hava Gordon, Sociology and Criminology

Kimberly Chiew, Psychology

Laura Ralston, Director of Graduate Recruitment & Admissions

W. Scott Howard, English & Literary Arts; and Denver Quarterly

Frédérique Chevillot, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures

Elizabeth Campbell, History

Lauren J. DeCarvalho, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Eric D. Johnson, School of Art and Art History

Luc Beaudoin, Gender and Women's Studies

Chiara Piovani, Economics

Jenalee Doom, Psychology

Paula Cole, Economics

Deanna Goldstein, Lamont School Music

John Nicolarsen, Economics

Hilary Smith, History

Lauren McGrath, Psychology

Kareem El Damanhoury, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Kristy L. Ulibarri, English and Literary Arts

Peter Sokol-Hessner, Psychology

Alejandro Cerón, Anthropology

Renée A. Botta, Media, Film & Journalism Studies; International & Intercultural Communication

Adam Rovner, English and Literary Arts; Director, Center for Judaic Studies

Selena A. Naumoff, Center for Judaic Studies

Christina Kreps, Chair, Department of Anthropology

Alison Krögel, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

R. D. Perry, English and Literary Arts

Laura Miller, Communications and Events Manager (Dean's Office)

Annette Stott, School of Art and Art History

Annabeth Headrick, School of Art and Art History

Margie Thompson, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Carlos Jimenez, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Yavuz Yasar, Department of Economics

Rachel Walsh, Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Smaragda Delageorgou, Lamont School of Music

Lisa Conant, Department of Political Science

Greg Ungar, Department of Theatre

Nicole M. Herzog, Department of Anthropology

David Coppini, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Salvador Mercado, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Lindsey Feitz, Gender and Women's Studies

Heather Seneff, School of Art & Art History

Claudia Vega Norell, Department of Languages, Literatures & Cultures and Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Nadia Kaneva, Media, Film and Journalism Studies

Joanna Howard, English & Literary Arts

Greg Storch, Languages, Literatures and Cultures + Spanish Language, Literary and Cultural Studies

Paula Adamo, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Jason O. Jeffries, Religious Studies

Murat Rodríguez-Nacif, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Lydia Gil Keff, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Naomi Reshotko, Department of Philosophy

Alicia Barrón López, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Terri-Jo W. Woellner, Center for World Languages & Cultures

Maggie Rosenau, Center for World Languages & Cultures

Stefan DuBois, Center for World Languages & Cultures

Angela Parker, History

Elizabeth Escobedo, History

Keith Ward, Music

Anne Penner, Theatre

Andrea Stanton, Religious Studies

Gustavo Fierros, Spanish Language, Literary & Cultural Studies

Ryan Conarro, Theatre

Benjamin Nourse, Religious Studies

Carol Helstosky, History

Anne P. DePrince, Psychology

Lisa M. Martinez, Sociology & Criminology

Paige Lloyd, Psychology

Angela Mitchell, Lamont School of Music

Odette Kugler, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Curtis Coats, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Heather Hadley, Lamont School of Music

Daniel Melleno, History

Graham Foust, English and Literary Arts

Donna Beth Ellard, English and Literary Arts

Jack Sheinbaum, Lamont School of Music

Noah Travis Phillips, Emergent Digital Practices

Tony Gault, Retired, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Kate Hollenbach, Emergent Digital Practices

Matthew Zalkind, Lamont School of Music

Aleysia Whitmore, Lamont School of Music

Chinn Wang, School of Art & Art History

Kateri McRae, Psychology

Douglas D. Hesse, English

Jennifer Pap, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures

Lynn Schofield Clark, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Diane Waldman, Emerita, Media, Film & Journalism Studies

Aleksandr Prigozhin, English and Literary Arts

Lawrence Golan, Lamont School of Music

Orna Shaughnessy, Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Gregory Allen Robbins, Religious Studies

Jodie A Kreider, History

Aimee Reichmann-Decker, Psychology

Erika Polson, Media, Film and Journalism Studies

Timothy Weaver, Emergent Digital Practices

Sarah Gjertson, School of Art & Art History

Kristin Taavola, Lamont School of Music

Christy Rossi, Psychology

William Depper, Emergent Digital Practices

William Philpott, History

Nancy Wadsworth, Political Science, John Evans Study Committee Chair

Jennifer Conder, Publishing Institute

Eric Gould, English

Lisa Pasko, Chair, Department of Sociology and Criminology

Jill Smith, Publishing Institute

Gretchen Hefner, Departments of Religious Studies and Philosophy

John Tiedemann, University Writing Program

Charles Reichardt, Department of Psychology

Bonnie J. Clark, Department of Anthropology & DU Anthropology Museum

Sandra Lee Dixon, Department of Religious Studies

Susan Schulten, Department of History

Sheila E. Schroeder, Department of Media, Film and Journalism Studies